On September 30th, the Republican Party of Texas was honored to recognize our Volunteers of the Year, at a banquet at the Austin Club in downtown Austin, TX. Numerous elected officials and Republican dignitaries joined together to recognize these 31 individuals for their tireless contributions to the Republican Party of Texas.

The gala's keynote address was delivered by Texas Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst, who graciously thanked all of our volunteers for their service and dedication to helping Republicans win elections in the 2010 cycle. Governor Dewhurst spoke about the great need to continue pushing forward in 2012, to not only reclaim the White House from Obama but to protect and build upon our Republican gains right here in Texas. After the keynote address, Governor Dewhurst presented commemorative gavels to each of the Volunteers of the Year. Also presenting awards to the Volunteers of the year was Attorney General Greg Abbott and former Dallas Mayor Tom Leppert. Special thanks goes to General Abbott and Tom Leppert for their participation and support of the Gala!

RPT Chairman Steve Munisteri thanked all of the event participants, saying "The Volunteer of the Year Gala was a tremendous success and a wonderful evening for all of our honorees and guests. Our deepest thanks goes out to Volunteerism Committee Chairwoman Leslie Recine for her leadership and hard work in putting together such a fantastic event. Leslie and the committee did a marvelous job of making this a special night for all 31 of our honorees, and the support and response of our elected officials and Republican leaders was greatly appreciated."

The 2011 Republican Party of Texas Volunteers of the Year are:
Senate District 1 – Keith Flowers, Lamar County
Senate District 2 – Paul Hoffman, Dallas County
Senate District 3 – JoAnn Fleming, Smith County
Senate District 4 – Pearl Maggio, Montgomery County
Senate District 5 – W. H. (Bill) Giesenschlag, Burleson County
Senate District 6 – Brian Keith Bishop, Harris County
Senate District 7 – Norma Jeter, Harris County
Senate District 8 – Pat Reid, Dallas County
Senate District 9 – Kensley Stewart, Dallas County
Senate District 10 – Marjorie Moffitt, Tarrant County
Senate District 11 – Barbara Meeks, Galveston County
Senate District 12 – Beryl Dowd, Tarrant County
Senate District 13 – Ron Meinke, Harris County
Senate District 14 – Cherry G. Haught, Travis County
Senate District 15 – Margie Forster, Harris County
Senate District 16 – Bonnie Wells, Dallas County
Senate District 17 – David Rosenthal, Harris County
Senate District 18 – Linda Hancock, Fort Bend County
Senate District 19 – Jackie Dowdy, Real County
Senate District 20 – Tom Knight, Nueces County
Senate District 21 – Michael P. Hoffman, Bexar County
Senate District 22 – Duke Machado, McLennan County
Senate District 23 – Larry Phillips, Dallas County
Senate District 24 – Capy Alexander, Kerr County
Senate District 25 – Kelly Donegan Follis, Guadalupe County
Senate District 26 – David L. Rosa, Bexar County
Senate District 27 – Ida R. Stacy, Cameron County
Senate District 28 – Bradford L. Moore, Terry County
Senate District 29 – Robert (Bobby) Peña, El Paso County
Senate District 30 – Sharon Van Baale, Jack County
Senate District 31 – William Sumerford, Potter County

A full write-up and photograph for each of our outstanding volunteers can be accessed at the Republican Party of Texas website by using this link.

Special thanks goes to the Volunteerism Committee of the State Republican Executive Committee for their leadership in coordinating and planning this event. Featured above with Lt. Governor David Dewhurst, are committee members: (L-R) Josh Flynn, SD15; Golden Elkins, SD30; Hal Talton, SD5; Montie Watkins, SD15; Leslie Recine, SD10, Chairman; Vicki Slaton, SD2; Rex Teter, SD6; David Bellow, SD 3; Tina Gibson, SD 17; (not pictured) Jimmie Kerr, SD22.

Furthermore, the RPT wishes to thank all of our Republican VOY sponsors who helped this event grow into a tremendous success, and whose financial support made the night possible.

Platinum Sponsor

Lt. Governor David Dewhurst

Gold Sponsors

Attorney General Greg Abbott
Comptroller Susan Combs
State Representative Dan Branch
Tom Leppert

Silver Sponsors

U.S. Congressman Mike Conaway
Land Commissioner Jerry Patterson
State Senator Brian Birdwell
State Senator John Carona
State Senator Chris Harris
State Senator Dan Patrick 
Speaker of the House Joe Straus
State Representative Larry Gonzales
State Representative Lanham Lyne
 State Representative Diane Patrick
State Representative Larry Taylor

Program Sponsors
Agriculture Commissioner Todd Staples
Railroad Commissioner Elizabeth Ames Jones
State Senator Kevin Eltife
State Senator Troy Fraser
State Senator Glenn Hegar
State Senator Joan Huffman
State Senator Mike Jackson
State Senator Jane Nelson
State Senator Robert Nichols
State Senator Steve Ogden
State Senator Tommy Williams
State Representative Jose Aliseda
State Representative Doc Anderson
State Representative Marva Beck
State Representative Leo Berman
State Representative Dwayne Bohac
State Representative Dennis Bonnen
State Representative Cindy Burkett
State Representative Stefani Carter
State Representative Byron Cook
State Representative Tom Craddick
State Representative Myra Crownover
State Representative Sarah Davis
State Representative Rob Eissler
State Representative Dan Flynn
State Representative Kelly Hancock
State Representative Linda Harper Brown
State Representative Harvey Hilderbran
State Representative Bryan Hughes
State Representative Jim Keffer
State Representative John Kuempel
State Representative Jerry Madden
State Representative Dee Margo
State Representative Sid Miller
State Representative Geanie Morrison
State Representative Barbara Nash
State Representative Tan Parker
State Representative Allan Ritter
State Representative Debbie Riddle
State Representative Kenneth Sheets
State Representative Mark Shelton
State Representative Ralph Sheffield
State Representative Wayne Smith
State Representative Vicki Truitt
State Representative Randy Weber
State Representative James White
State Representative Bill Zedler
State Representative John Zerwas