Thursday, May 23, 2019

Sam Pohl,

The Texas Born-Alive Infant Protection Act Passes
A Victory for Pro-Life Texans

AUSTIN, TX – Today, House Bill 16, the Texas Born-Alive Infant Protection Act, passed 84-57 with two present not voting, and is on its way to Governor Greg Abbott’s desk. This important piece of legislation would protect children born alive after failed abortion attempts by creating felony charges against doctors and imposing a fine of at least $100,000 for “failing to provide the appropriate medical treatment” for these children. Republican Party of Texas Chairman James Dickey commented:

“We are thankful that this important piece of legislation is on its way to the Governor’s desk. It’s truly astounding that anyone would advocate killing a child who is born alive. That’s something the Democrats who voted against this bill will have to explain to their constituents. There should never be a question about whether or not to protect innocent life.”

Republican State Representative Jeff Leach is the author of HB 16 while State Representatives Greg Bonnen, Stephanie Klick, Tom Oliverson, and Geanie Morrison were joint authors. There were 76 coauthors. Senator Lois Kolkhorst carried Senate Bill 23, the Senate companion. Senators Dawn Buckingham, Donna Campbell, Joan Huffman, Jane Nelson, and Angela Paxton were joint authors. There were nine coauthors.

Chairman Dickey concluded:

“We applaud Representative Jeff Leach, Senator Kolkhorst, and all of our Republican legislators for accomplishing legislation that protects those who cannot protect themselves. This legislation is a victory for all who support life.”