Republican Party of Texas State Republican Executive Committee

Organizational Meeting Minutes, May 14, 2016

Kay Bailey Hutchison Convention Center, Dallas, TX 75202

Chairman Tom Mechler opened the meeting. The invocation was delivered by Melinda Fredricks, SD 4. Following the Chairman Mechler appointed Cassie Daniel to act as temporary secretary.

The temporary Secretary, called the roll. Members were present unless otherwise noted in the minutes.

Officers			
<u>Officers</u> Chairman		Tom Mechler	
Vice Chairman		Amy Clark	
		Rena Peden	
Secretary		Tom Washington	
Treasurer Asst. Treasurer		Montie Watkins – Absent	
		Rex Johnson – Absent	
Chaplain National Committeeman		Robin Armstrong	
National Committeewoman		Toni Anne Dashiell	
General Counsel		Patrick O'Daniel	
Asst. General Counsel		Eric Opiela	
Asst. General Counsel Asst. General Counsel		Charlie Sartain – Absent	
Parliamentarian		Butch Davis	
Sergeant at Arms		Nelda Eppes	
Jergeant		Neida Eppes	
SREC Mer	<u>nbers</u>		
SD 1	Dennis Cable		Sue Evenwel
SD 2	Jason Ross		Vicki Slaton
SD 3	Jerry Holcomb		Judy Parada
SD 4	Will Robbins		Melinda Fredricks
SD 5	Mike McCloskey		Nita Davidson
SD 6	Chris McDonald		Tammie Nielsen
SD 7	Mark Ramsey		Sarah Singleton
SD 8	Karl Voigtsberger		Candy Noble
SD 9	Steve Atwell		Shelly Pritchard
SD 10	Jeremy Blosser		Merri Easterly
SD 11	JT Edwards		Tanya Robertson
SD 12	David Halvorson		Debbie Terry
SD 13	Dale Gibble		Melanie Flowers
SD 14	Fernando Trevino, Jr – Absent		Jan Duncan
SD 15	Vergel Cruz		Gail Stanart
SD 16	Randy Dunning		Virginia Prodan
SD 17	Marvin Clede		Tina Gibson
SD 18	Michael Cloud		Edee Sinclair
SD 19	Scott Stratton		Terri DuBose
SD 20	Sam Dalton		Janie Melendez
SD 21	Mike Goldman		Naomi Narvaiz
SD 22	Chuck Wilson		Denise De Lara
SD 23	Stephen Broden		Marian Phillips
SD 24	Jack Barcroft – Abse	nt	Randan Steinhauser
SD 25	Mark Dorazio		Linda Kinney
SD 26	Fred Rangel		Marian Stanko
SD 27	Matthew Walbeck –	Absent	Sharon Batterson
SD 28	Drew Bullard		Jane Cansino

SD 29	Mark Dunham
SD 30	Paul Braswell
SD 31	Tom Roller

Lisa Sprinkle Deon Starnes Rhonda Lacy

Chairman Mechler welcomed the new members.

Cassie Daniel, RPT Senior Director of Party Organization & Training, reviewed the meeting packets and SREC Convention Committee appointments.

Randall Dunning, SD 16 moved to adopt the SREC Bylaws.

Tina Gibson, SD 17 moved to amend Article VI, Section 2 to state the following, "10. The Historian (optional) shall be appointed following the election of the chair. The historian shall compile and maintain records reflecting the history of the Republican Party of Texas." The motion passed.

Jeremy Blosser, SD 10 moved to amend Article XI to insert the words "or a majority of the entire membership," right before "in person or represented by proxy. . ." The motion passed.

David Halverson, SD 12 moved for final passage of the bylaws. Motion passed.

The next item of business was to elect a secretary. Melinda Fredrick, SD 4 nominated Rena Peden. The Chair asked for any additional nominations. No other nominations were made and Rena Peden was declared elected.

The bylaws direct that both the SREC Members and Non SREC Members of the Candidate Resource Committee are appointed and confirmed at the Organizational Meeting.

The following members were appointed by the chair and confirmed by a vote of the SREC.

- SREC Members: Sue Evenwel, SD 1; Will Robbins, SD 4; Chris McDonald, SD 6; Mark Ramsey, SD 7; Marian Phillips, SD 23; Steve Atwell, SD 9; JT Edwards, SD 11; Vergel Cruz, SD 15; & Tom Roller, SD 31
- Non SREC Members: Jan Koehne, Fred Tate, Jody Rushton, David Wylie, Kevin Moomaw, & Harold Jenkins
- Chair: Steve Atwell, SD 9
- Vice Chair: Vergel Cruz, SD 15

Respectfully submitted,

Cassie Daniel, Temporary Secretary