

Republican Party of Texas – State Republican Executive Committee

2022 Pre-Convention Meeting Minutes – June 15, 2022 George R. Brown Convention Center – Grand Ballroom C 1001 Avenida de las Americas, Houston, Texas 77010

Pursuant to Republican Party of Texas Rule 33(c), Chairman Matt Rinaldi called the meeting to order at 4:13 p.m. CDT.

Chaplain Jeremy Story gave the invocation. Dan Tully, SD 10, led the Pledge to the United States flag, and Russ Langas, SD 1, led the Pledge to the Texas flag.

Without objection, the SREC accepted three single-day proxies as noted below.

Secretary Vergel Cruz called the roll. Members were present unless otherwise noted in the Minutes.

State Chairman	Matt Rinaldi
State Vice Chairman	Cat Parks
Secretary	Vergel Cruz
Treasurer	Fred Tate, absent
General Counsel	Rachel Hooper
Assistant General Counsel	Emily Cook
Parliamentarian	Richard Hayes
Sergeant-at-Arms	Mike Robertson
Chaplain	Jeremy Story

Finance Chairman Rep. Mayes Middleton, absent

Historian Dr. Tim Westley, absent National Committeeman Dr. Robin Armstrong

National Committeewoman Toni Anne Dashiell, absent

SD 1 Rhonda Anderson

SD 1 Russ Langas SD 2 Jerry Fisher

SD 2 Donnie Wisenbaker

SD 3 Emily Cook SD 3 David Covey

SD 4 Gwendolyn Withrow

SD 4	Walter West
SD 5	Jo Miller, by proxy Sue De Villez
SD 5	Bill Fairbrother
SD 6	Dawn McDonald
SD 6	VACANT
SD 7	Deborah Kelting Fite
SD 7	Tom Nobis
SD 8	Margaret Whitt
SD 8	Jim Pikl
SD 9	Anne Gebhart
SD 9	Steve Atwell
SD 10	Susan Wright
SD 10	Dan Tully
SD 10	VACANT
SD 11	Peter Lauzon
SD 12	Jill Glover
SD 12 SD 12	David Wylie
SD 12 SD 13	Dawn Elliott
SD 13	Roy Morales
SD 13	Olga Lasher, by proxy Amy O'Donnell
SD 14 SD 14	Fernando Treviño, Jr.
SD 14 SD 15	Gail Stanart
SD 15	Rolando Garcia
SD 16	Susan Fountain
SD 16	Matt Patrick
SD 10 SD 17	
SD 17 SD 17	Becky Green Sean Cheben
SD 17 SD 18	Edee Sinclair
SD 18	Joe Walz
SD 18	
SD 19	Kelly Perry Fernando Garcia
SD 19 SD 20	Grace Jones
SD 20	
SD 20 SD 21	Carmen Calderone, by proxy Chuck Burnett VACANT
SD 21 SD 21	
SD 21 SD 22	Terry Harper Devvie Duke
SD 22 SD 22	Jon Ker
	Leslie Thomas
SD 23	
SD 23	Stephen Broden, by proxy Leslie Thomas
SD 24	Mary Jane Avery
SD 24	Andrew Eller Kris Coons
SD 25	
SD 25	Chris Byrd

SD 26	Marian Stanko
SD 26	Quico Canseco
SD 27	Morgan Graham, absent
SD 27	Rey Gonzalez
SD 28	Robin Hayes
SD 28	Steve Evans
SD 29	Robyn Cooper
SD 29	Mark Dunham, absent
SD 30	Deon Starnes
SD 30	Britton Brooks, present by proxy Deon Starnes; then
	present himself from 4:22 p.m.
SD 31	Rhonda Lacy
SD 31	Carroll Precure

The Secretary notes three membership changes since the last meeting. Naomi Narvaiz, SD 21, submitted a resignation by electronic mail at 9:48 a.m. on February 16, 2022, effective immediately. Tanya Robertson, SD 11, submitted a resignation by electronic mail on April 21, 2022, at 2:02 p.m., effective immediately. Chris McDonald, SD 6, passed away on May 22, 2022.

Without objection, the SREC chose to forgo the reading of the February 12, 2022, SREC open meeting Minutes. Without objection, the Minutes stood approved as submitted.

The agenda for the meeting was then adopted without objection.

David Wylie, Chairman of the Temporary Credentials Committee, by direction of the Committee, moved the adoption of the Temporary Roll of the Convention, excluding those challenges to be resolved by the Convention as provided under Republican Party of Texas Rule 27. The roll included 7,853 delegates and 1,697 alternate delegates from 232 delegations with a combined voting strength of 8,834. The SREC adopted the Temporary Roll.

Without objection, the SREC authorized the Temporary Convention Secretary to make any non-substantive grammatical, typographical, and formatting corrections to the Temporary Supplemental Rules of the Convention.

Steve Evans, Chairman of the Temporary Rules Committee, by direction of the Committee, moved the adoption of the Temporary Supplemental Rules of the Convention.

Steve Evans, SD 28, moved with a second to amend Supplemental Rule No. 18 by adding the following item and renumbering the remaining items accordingly, "IX. Canvass of election results and final approval of the caucus report to the State Nominations Committee." The amendment was adopted. The Temporary Supplemental Rules of the Convention, as amended, were then adopted.

Deborah Kelting Fite, Chairman of the Temporary Organization Committee, by direction of the Committee, moved the adoption of the temporary organization of the Convention as follows:

Chairman Matt Rinaldi Secretary Vergel Cruz Sergeant-at-Arms Mike Robertson

The SREC adopted the temporary organization of the Convention as presented.

Next, Matt Patrick, Chairman of the Temporary Platform and Resolutions Committee, and the Honorable Nathan Macias, Chairman of the Temporary Committee on Legislative Priorities, gave their respective reports.

Steve Atwell, Chairman of the Candidate Resource Committee (CRC), gave a brief report explaining the silent auction and SD caucus collection to raise funds for the CRC.

Steve Evans, SD 28, moved that the SREC adjourn in memory of our esteemed, late colleague Chris McDonald. Without objection, the 2022 Pre-Convention SREC Meeting adjourned at 4:44 p.m. CDT.

Respectfully submitted,

Vergel B. Cy

Vergel B. Cruz, Secretary