

## Republican Party of Texas – State Republican Executive Committee

Special Meeting Minutes – September 14, 2022

**Digital Conference Meeting** 

Chairman Matt Rinaldi called meeting to order at 6:01 p.m. CDT, via Zoom.

The Secretary called the roll. Members were present unless otherwise noted in the Minutes.

State Chairman	Matt Rinaldi
State Vice Chairman	Dr. Dana Myers
Secretary	Vergel Cruz
Treasurer	Fred Tate
General Counsel	Rachel Hooper
Assistant General Counsel	Emily Cook, absent
Parliamentarian	Richard Hayes
Sergeant-at-Arms	Mike McCloskey
Chaplain	Jeremy Story, absent
Finance Chairman	Rep. Mayes Middlete

ton, absent National Committeeman Dr. Robin Armstrong, absent National Committeewoman Toni Anne Dashiell

Christin Bentley SD 1 Donnie Wisenbaker SD<sub>2</sub> Jerry Fisher SD 2 Bruce Bishop SD 3 Janis Holt

SD 3 David Covey, absent SD 4 Gwendolyn Withrow SD 4 Dale Inman, absent

Susan Lucas SD 5 SD 5 Bill Fairbrother SD 6 Dawn McDonald SD 6 Scott Bowen

SD 7 Deborah Kelting Fite, absent

SD 7 Tom Nobis SD 8 Margaret Whitt

SD8 Jim Pikl

SD 1

SD 9	Anne Gebhart
SD 9	Dan Tully
SD 10	Susan Wright
SD 10	Matt Ticzkus, absent
SD 11	Gaylyn DeVine
SD 11	Ken Moore
SD 12	Jill Glover
SD 12	David Wylie
SD 13	Dr. Milinda Morris
SD 13	Dale Gibble
SD 14	Jan Duncan
SD 14	Fernando Treviño, Jr.
SD 15	Gail Stanart
SD 15	Rolando Garcia
SD 16	Susan Fountain
SD 16	Matt Patrick
SD 17	Becky Green
SD 17	Roman Klein
SD 18	Cheryl Thompson-Draper
SD 18	Howard Barker
SD 19	Kelly Perry
SD 19	Fernando Garcia
SD 20	Grace Jones
SD 20	Chuck Burnett
SD 21	Toni Treviño
SD 21	Mike Monreal
SD 22	Devvie Duke
SD 22	Jon Ker, from 6:13 p.m.
SD 23	Elaine Cook
SD 23	Ed Zenner, absent
SD 24	Mary Jane Avery
SD 24	Andrew Eller
SD 25	Naomi Narvaiz
SD 25	Chris Byrd, absent
SD 26	Karen Marshall, from 6:15 p.m.
SD 26	Quico Canseco
SD 27	Morgan Graham, absent
SD 27	Carmen Calderone
SD 28	Lynda Hogue, absent
SD 28	Steve Evans
SD 29	Robyn Cooper
SD 29	Adolpho Telles, absent
SD 30	Rachel Horton

SD 30	Britton Brooks
SD 31	Tisha Crow
SD 31	Thomas Warren

Bill Fairbrother, SD 5, moved with a second, pursuant to Article VII, Sections 1 and 2 of the SREC Bylaws, that the SREC confirm Chairman Rinaldi's appointments to special and standing committees as follows:

<u>Finance:</u> Rep. Mayes Middleton (Chair), Dr. Dana Myers (Vice Chair), Monty Bennett, Doug Deason, Stacy Hock, Bubba Saulsbury, Roy Bailey, Phil Huffines, Kathaleen Wall

<u>Candidate Resource Committee</u> (in addition to members appointed at the Organizational Meeting): Adolpho Telles, Cheryl Thompson-Draper

<u>Party Organization:</u> Susan Fountain (Chair), Robyn Cooper (Vice Chair), Dawn McDonald, Tisha Crow, Cheryl Thompson-Draper, Chuck Burnett, Toni Treviño, Mary Jane Avery, Adolpho Telles, Britton Brooks, Howard Barker

<u>Partnerships and Coalitions:</u> Jerry Fisher (Chair), Karen Marshall (Vice Chair), Maggie Whitt, Rachel Horton, Fernando Treviño, Gaylyn DeVine, Elaine Cook, Jill Glover

<u>Resolutions:</u> Scott Bowen (Chair), Chris Byrd (Vice Chair), Christin Bentley, Donnie Wisenbaker, Jerry Fisher, David Covey, Dawn McDonald, Dan Tully, Rolando Garcia, Andy Eller, Naomi Narvaiz, Britton Brooks, Gwen Withrow

<u>Rules:</u> Steve Evans (Chair), Jim Pikl (Vice Chair), David Covey, Susan Lucas, Scott Bowen, Anne Gebhart, Susan Wright, Gail Stanart, Grace Jones, Chuck Burnett, Harry Ed Zenner, Naomi Narvaiz, Fernando Garcia

<u>Legislative Priorities:</u> Jill Glover (Chair), Kelly Perry (Vice Chair), Devvie Duke, David Wylie, Jon Ker, Christin Bentley, Tisha Crow, Chris Byrd, Susan Lucas, Karen Marshall, Rachel Horton, Tom Nobis, Janis Holt, Dr. Milinda Morris, Quico Canseco

<u>Election Integrity:</u> Devvie Duke (Chair), Gail Stanart (Vice Chair), Ken Moore, Roman Klein, Fernando Garcia, Toni Treviño, Harry Ed Zenner, Andy Eller, Lynda Hogue, Jan Duncan, Donnie Wisenbaker

<u>Local Government (special)</u> – Influence non-partisan races and ballot measures through endorsements, policy positions, candidate recruitment, training, and sharing of resources: Rolando Garcia (Chair), Deborah Kelting Fite (Vice Chair), Bruce Bishop, Dale Inman, Bill Fairbrother, Matt Ticzkus, Jon Ker, Thomas Warren, Fernando Treviño, Tom Nobis, Carmen Calderone, Peter Lauzon

<u>Engagement (special)</u> – Identify opportunities to engage voters across the state and recommend methods of reaching them: Alma Jackson (Chair), Roy Morales (Vice Chair), Maggie Whitt, Dale Gibble, Howard Barker, Thomas Warren, Roman Klein, Mike Monreal

<u>Platform Advocacy (special)</u> – Educate elected officials on, and promote passage of legislation crafted in support of Texas GOP Platform items not included in the list of legislative priorities: Matt Patrick (Chair), Vice Chair – Quico Canseco (Vice Chair), Becky Green, Carmen Calderone, Mike Monreal, Dale Inman, Susan Fountain, Ken Moore, Morgan Graham, Dr. Milinda Morris

<u>Candidate Development (special)</u> – Identify, recruit, and train candidates Republican candidates for office, with a focus on areas and races that have voted Democrat or lacked Republican candidates on the ballot: Morgan Graham (Chair), Bruce Bishop (Vice Chair), Janis Holt, Dan Tully, Matt Ticzkus, Elaine Cook, Deborah Kelting Fite, Jan Duncan, Dale Gibble

<u>Convention Planning (special)</u> – Planning for the 2024 Texas GOP Convention: Gaylyn DeVine (Chair), Grace Jones (Vice Chair), Lynda Hogue, David Wylie, Steve Evans

Dale Gibble, SD 13, moved with a second to amend the roster of the Special Committee on Engagement to name Maggie Whitt Vice Chair. The motion was approved. The main motion, as amended, was approved.

Steve Evans, SD 28, moved with a second that the SREC concur with Chairman Rinaldi's clarification under Republican Party of Texas Rule 1(f) that an ambiguity exists in Rule 44(b) due to the inclusion of the following words:

or rejects an application for a place on the ballot under Section (a)(2)

The motion to concur passed.

Maggie Whitt, SD 8, moved with a second that the SREC adjourn, and the motion was approved. The meeting adjourned at 6:19 p.m. CDT.

Respectfully submitted,

Vergel B. Cy

Vergel B. Cruz, Secretary