Today, the Republican Party of Texas (RPT) released their Democrat Hall of Shame for the 84th Legislature. While many more dastardly Democrats could have qualified, these six liberal Democrats stood out due to their egregious actions during the last legislative session.

“It’s disappointing that these Democrats expended so much energy this session working against the values of Texans,” said RPT Chairman Tom Mechler. “From fighting to continue to fund disgraced Austin DA Rosemary Lehmberg, to attempting to undo landmark pro-life legislation that was passed by Republicans, this group embarrassed not only themselves, but also the entire Democratic Party by their actions. Although the 84th Legislative Session is over, the abominable actions of these liberal legislators will live on in infamy.”

This year’s RPT Hall of Shame:

Senator Kirk Watson
The Legislature’s top cheerleader to keep funding disgraced DA Rosemary Lehmberg’s Public Integrity Unit

Representative Abel Herrero
For the second session in a row, Herrero was the poster child against school choice legislation

Representative Terry Canales
Battled unsuccessfully for elected officials to keep their pensions if convicted of a felony

Representative Jessica Farrar
Fought for more abortions for children and filed legislation to weaken pro-life legislation passed by Republicans

Representative Joe Pickett
Pickett ordered his committee staff to impersonate a Texas resident in order to ambush a Republican colleague, and in the process killed a bill that would have helped end red light cameras in Texas

Leticia Van de Putte

View more here