At a recent event in Robert Lee, numerous Republican statewide leaders joined together to welcome seven elected officials from Coke County to the Republican Party. The elected officials changing parties included County Judge Roy Blair, County Commissioner Bobby Blaylock, County Commissioner Wendell Lee, Sheriff Wayne McCutchen, Constable Marty Boyd, County Clerk Mary Grim and Tax Assessor Josie Dean.

"This announcement makes it very clear the big-spending, big-government Democratic Party philosophy has worn out its welcome in Texas," said Texas Agriculture Commissioner Todd Staples. "Republicans fight for our free enterprise system and accountability. We welcome these leaders who are standing on principle and who want to empower families, not government."

“Big liberal agendas do not reflect the values of Coke County citizens, and I’m proud to join the Republican Party and what it stands for,” said Coke County Judge Roy Blair.

“This is a historic moment for the Republican Party and the great state of Texas. These strong leaders have made the decision to join the Republican Party after living their lives in a town and county named after two of history’s largest symbols of the Democratic Party,” Staples said. “The message is loud and clear, the Republican Party is what’s needed to get this country back on the right track.”

Joining together in Robert Lee, TX for the announcement were Agriculture Commissioner Todd Staples, Texas Supreme Court Justice Don Willett, State Representative Drew Darby, Republican Party of Texas Chairman Steve Munisteri and Republican Party of Texas Vice Chairman Melinda Fredricks.

Republican Party of Texas State Chairman Steve Munisteri commented, "This announcement continues a steady and growing trend among elected officials in Texas who recognize that the Republican Party principles of free enterprise, limited government, and individual liberty are the best way to ensure Texas' future. Over the past two years, we've welcomed many former Democratic officeholders who have come to the same conclusion, and this historic switch in Coke County continues and confirms that momentum. As Chairman of the Republican Party of Texas, I want to warmly welcome all of these officeholders to our ranks."