The Legislature is in full swing, and there are multiple action items in this email. So please read it in its entirety!

The Legislative Priorities Committee has approved 28 additional bills since our last update, bringing our total to 148. This is more than double the number of bills our committee approved last session, which is very encouraging.  And we still have more to review! The updated LP bill list is here.

This week is a busy week at the Capitol, and we need your help.  Please share the following information with other Republicans:

The Republican Party of Texas strongly supports HB 900, which prohibits sexually explicit books in public schools.  This bill is a top priority of the Legislative Priorities Committee. 

Please go to the following link to register your written testimony and SUPPORT for HB 900, which will become part of the public record.  The sooner you do so, the better, as it is time sensitive.  A link for public comment is here:

All that is needed is a simple comment of support, like “I strongly support HB 900 because it prohibits harmful, sexually explicit materials in public schools.”  

We are also asking that parents and grandparents from across Texas to come to the Capitol on Tuesday to testify in favor of HB900 at the meeting of the Public Education Committee, which begins hearing bills at 8:00 AM, Tuesday March 21, 2023 in room E2.036.

If you can’t make it, please call the members of the Public Ed Committee and ask them to pass out HB 900:

Public Education

Chair:  Brad Buckley 512-463-0684

Alma Allen 512-463-0744

Steve Allison 512-463-0686

Charles Cunningham 512-463-0520

Harold V. Dutton, Jr. 512-463-0510

Cody Harris 512-463-0730

Brian Harrison 512-463-0516

Cole Hefner 512-463-0271

Gina Hinojosa 512-463-0668

Ken King 512-463-0736

Oscar Longoria 512-463-0645

Matt Schaefer 512-463-0528

James Talarico 512-463-0821

Two more Legislative Priority bills, to Defend Our Gun Rights are being heard on Tuesday, March 21 in the House Committee on Public Safety at 2:00pm in room E2.012:

HB 175 Shaefer – allows for those who receive deferred adjudication community supervision for unlawful carrying a handgun to have their records expunged.

HB 636 Patterson – allows a licensed election judges to carry a handgun in a polling place

There is also a concerning bill being heard in this committee that infringes on gun rights.  It’s HB 2780 and would prohibit an individual from owning a firearm if they received a mental health diagnosis in a treatment center as a child.  This is a very slippery slope and we do not support this bill.

Please call members of House Community Safety and urge them to:

Vote YES on

HB 175

HB 636

Vote NO on:

HB 2780

House Committee on Community Safety:

Chair: Ryan Guillen     512-463-0416

Vice Chair: Jarvis Johnson      (512) 463-0554

Rhetta Bowers            512-463-0464

Dustin Burrows           512-463-0542

Terry Canales              512-463-0426

Mark Dorazio              512-463-0646

Vikki Goodwin            512-463-0652

Sam Harless                512-463-0496

Justin Holland             512-463-0484

Tracy O. King               512-463-0194

Brooks Landgraf         512-463-0546

Joe Moody                  512-463-0728

Ellen Troxclair             512-463-0490

On Wednesday in the Senate, our LP approved bill for School Choice, SB 176 (committee substitute) by Sen. Middleton, will be heard in Senate Education at 9:00am in E1.028.

Please call these committee members and urge them to vote this bill out of committee:

Chair: Brandon Creighton                    512-463-0104 

Vice Chair: Donna Campbell              512-463-0125 

Paul Bettencourt                                512-463-0107

Brian Birdwell                                     512-463-0122 

Pete Flores                                           512-463-0124

Phill King                                             512-463-0110

Morgan LaMantia                               512-463-0127

Jose Menendez                                   512-463-0126

Mayes  Middleton                              512-463-0111

Tan Parker                                           512-463-0112

Angela Paxton                                     512-463-0108

Drew Springer                                     512-463-0130

Royce West                                          512-463-0123

Please pass this information along to other Republican voters.  Thank you for helping us support great legislation in our great state of Texas!

For God and Texas,

Jill Glover
Chair, SREC Legislative Priorities Committee

To receive future SREC Legislative Priority Updates directly in your mailbox each week, sign up here.