Austin, TX, Release: Feb 10, 2024 — For Immediate Release

The Republican Party of Texas officially censured Representative Dade Phelan today, imposing the full set of penalties allowed by the rules, for lack of fidelity to Republican principles and prioritiesRule 44 of the Republican Party of Texas allows the party to censure elected officials who violate Republican Party of Texas principles and priorities three times or more in a given biennium. The censure of Rep. Phelan details five such instances on issues such as the impeachment of Ken Paxton, Democrat Committee Chairs, border security, and educational freedom.  

The original censure resolution was passed by the Jasper County Republican Party with at least 2/3rds support and required a three-fifths vote (39) to pass the 64-member State Republican Executive Committee. The final vote was 55 in favor, 4 opposed, and 4 abstentions.

Those opposed are: Donnie Wisenbaker SD1, Fernando Trevino SD 14, Morgan Graham SD 27, and Lynda Hogue SD 28.

Those who abstained are: Jim Pikl SD 8, Anne Gebhart SD 9, Dan Tully SD 9, and Steve Evans SD 28.

Representative Phelan is the fourth elected official in the history of the Republican Party of Texas to be censured utilizing the Rule 44 censure option.

The full resolution is here.